Using Blacklines to Review Changes

Each time you generate XBRL documents, a new revision is stored in the document’s XBRL history. You can review changes that were made between two revisions of the XBRL documents by creating XBRL blacklines.

Generating XBRL

The XBRL history and blackline features are found on the XBRL tab of the Projects panel. The Projects panel appears only when a project is open. Make sure your filing document is part of your project.

Open the Projects panel and select your project from the drop-down list if not already selected. Then, go to the XBRL tab and click Generate XBRL.

image alt text

You can choose to generate XBRL in the background. The Generate XBRL button and Revision show progress.

image alt text

Creating an XBRL Blackline

On the XBRL tab of the Projects panel, click the History tab. Then select the revision you want to compare with another. Click the Actions drop-down menu and select Create Blackline.

image alt text

In the Create Blackline dialog box, type a name for this blackline. Then, from the History tab, drag the revision you want to compare with the one you selected from the History list.

image alt text

To change which revisions to compare, click the X button on either revision. Then drag new revisions to the boxes.

image alt text

Click Create Blackline. When the blackline is ready, it appears in the XBRL tab on the Projects panel.

image alt text

To view the blackline document, click the Actions dropdown and select Open.

image alt text

The blackline document opens in the Wdesk XBRL Viewer. Here, you can select which section to view and which attributes to display and hide.

image alt text

  1. Document outline indicates which sections have changed.

  2. Blue highlights indicate where XBRL changed in the document.

Understanding Blackline Changes

Blackline changes appear like tracked changes. Use the Legend in the Wdesk XBRL Viewer to understand how changes are presented.

NOTE: XBRL blacklines do not show which user made the changes.

Deleting an XBRL Blackline

Open the XBRL tab on the Projects panel. Select the Blackline tab and find the revision you want to delete. From the Actions menu, select Delete Blackline.

image alt text