Using Blacklines to Review Changes

Each time you generate XBRL documents, a new revision is stored in the document’s XBRL history. You can review changes that were made between two revisions of the XBRL documents by creating XBRL blacklines.

Generating XBRL

The XBRL history and blackline features are found on the XBRL tab of the Projects panel. The Projects panel appears only when a project is open. Make sure your filing document is part of your project.

  1. Open the Projects panel and select your project from the drop-down list if not already selected.

  2. Go to the XBRL tab and click Generate XBRL. You can choose to generate XBRL in the background.

    image alt text

    The Generate XBRL button and Revision show progress.

    image alt text

Creating an XBRL Blackline

Blackline changes appear like tracked changes. However, they do not show which user made the changes.

  1. Go to the XBRL tab for your project and find the revision you want to compare with another.

  2. Click the Actions drop-down menu and select Create Blackline.

    image alt text

  3. In the Create Blackline dialog box, type a name for the blackline.

  4. From the History tab, drag the revision you want to compare with the one you selected from the History list.

    image alt text

    To change which revisions to compare, click the X button on either revision. Then drag new revisions to the boxes.

    image alt text

  5. Click Create Blackline.

  6. To view the blackline document, click the Actions dropdown and select Open.

    This opens the document in the Wdesk XBRL Viewer.

Deleting an XBRL Blackline

  1. Open the XBRL tab on the Projects panel.

  2. Select the Blackline tab and find the revision you want to delete.

  3. From the Actions menu, select Delete Blackline.