Moving Files between Workspaces

Basics of Moving Files

You can move files created in one workspace to another. To move a file, you need to be a workspace admin and have permission to the file. Files cannot be open during the move, and if you’re moving a document with XBRL, the workspace needs the XBRL namespace and calendar set up. If needed, you can also keep a frozen copy of files in the original workspace.

Moving a file between workspaces:

  • Resets a document’s comments, history, permissions, and sets you as the owner.
  • Copies any linked files into a new folder in the selected workspace.

You can move the following from one workspace to another:

Classic Documents
Classic Workbooks
Classic Presentations
Classic Data Collection
Projects
Next generation files in a project


Moving Files between Workspaces

To move a file to another workspace:

1
Select the file by checking the box next to the file name.
2
Click Move in the toolbar or right-click the file and then select Move . Select Move
3
Click Move to another Workspace. Selcct Move to another Workspace
4
Select the workspace and click Move. Click Move