Synchronizing Workbooks to Your Account

Synch WdeskSynch Wdesksync

The Workiva enterprise integration feature, Wdesk Sync, allows you to synchronize information from a spreadsheet on your computer to Wdesk, allowing you to create new workbooks or update existing ones with data on your computer in just a few simple clicks. If you'd like to apply this feature on your account, you should discuss implementation with your Customer Success Manager to ensure the integrity of your data across platforms. To view more discussion on this subject, see the following Wdesk Community topic: Is there a way to export the outline of your workbooks?

WARNING: For best results, ensure that your workbook can accommodate the information from your spreadsheet before synchronizing your documents. Failure to do so will cause information to be excluded, possibly resulting in data loss, formatting loss, or other errors. If you have any questions regarding what will or will not require editing before synchronizing, contact your CSM.

NOTE: Wdesk Sync features can only be used on computers running Windows 7®1 or newer. Apple operating systems are not supported at this time.

Downloading and Installing Wdesk Sync

To use the feature, you will need Microsoft®1 Excel 2007, 2010, or 2013 and Microsoft .NET Framework 3.5 or newer. You must also have permission to install programs on your computer. If you do not have these programs or lack permission to install programs on your computer, please consult your company's IT resources.

For technical information relevant to your IT department, direct them to download the Wdesk Sync Installer Technical Details.

To begin, download the Wdesk Sync Add-In installer and launch the program. Once the Add-In has been installed, restart your computer and open the spreadsheet you'd like to sync to your account.

image alt text

If your version of Wdesk Sync is not up to date, you will be prompted to updated by a panel on the left.

image alt text

Synchronizing Excel with Wdesk

With Wdesk Sync installed, you will see a tab option titled Wdesk Sync at the top of your window. Under this tab, click Start to open the Wdesk Workbook Sync Wizard to sync your spreadsheet to your account. If you've already synced up a workbook, and want to update any new information, you can click the Repeat button. See below for a full walk-through.

If you do not see the Wdesk Sync tab on your workbook as pictured above, you can enable an installed Add-In through the Add-In Manager, found by entering the File menu, going under Options, then expanding the Add-Ins menu option. If you continue having problems accessing the Wdesk Workbook Sync Add-In, contact your IT department.

Spreadsheets synced to your account may lack fonts, colors, lines, or other formatting found in the original spreadsheet. However, document content and formatting already in an existing Wdesk workbook will not be lost. Similarly, formulas in a spreadsheet will not be added when syncing, but existing Wdesk workbook formulas will remain. Any hidden rows/columns in Excel will also sync.

  1. Click the Login button. Select your Wdesk Region. Choose your Region from the drop-down, and click Login via browser. You can check Don't ask again to save your choice, then, in the future, just click the Login button.

    image alt text

  2. Your default browser will open with a new tab, and you will login to Wdesk however you normally do. If you're already logged into Wdesk, Wdesk Sync will verify this, and you will not need to login. Any login or security features (browser validation, SAML, etc.) are supported using your normal Wdesk login.

  3. The first time you log in, you'll be asked to Validate your Connection. Click the Validate button. A screen will be displayed confirming your validation, which you can then close.

    image alt text

  4. To begin a sync, on the Wdesk Sync tab of Excel, click the Start button.

    image alt text

  5. Once you've logged in to Wdesk, and are on the Worksheets tab, choose which worksheets you'd like to sync. To select or deselect all available worksheets, use the appropriate button at the top of the window, or select the worksheets individually, using the checkbox next to the worksheet name. If a worksheet has a range of cells highlighted, only the highlighted cells will be synced.

    image alt text

  6. On the Wdesk Workbook tab, choose which workbook will receive this new data, or create a new one with the data. If you choose to create a new workbook, you can name it in the Workbook Name field at the bottom of the window. If you'd like to see more information about the available workbooks, you can switch between an icon view and a detailed list of workbooks using the slider in the bottom left corner of the window. Click Next.

    image alt text

  7. When using this application to update an existing workbook, you may need to manually edit your Wdesk workbook before changes will sync appropriately. For example, if you add a row of data to a spreadsheet, you must add the row in the Wdesk workbook before syncing. Additionally, any tabs in the spreadsheet that are not matched by name in the selected workbook will be created on uploading, e.g. if your spreadsheet has a tab named Q1 Earnings Data and your workbook has a tab labelled Quarterly Earnings Data, a new tab named Q1 Earnings Data will be created in your workbook.

  8. Finally, on the Review and Sync tab, confirm the items you want to sync. When you are ready, click Start Workbook Sync to add the data to your Wdesk account. NOTE: Whoever is syncing the workbook must have editing rights to the respective workbook sections for the sync to complete.

    image alt text

A status bar will appear, displaying the status of your sync. Once complete, your new or existing workbook will be available on your account.

image alt text

If you have Wdesk open when you begin your sync, a progress bar will also appear there with more information about your sync progress. NOTE: If your workbook is in draft mode, you will be prompted with a reminder to share your changes before syncing.

If you have locked cells, the cells will remain locked after the sync.

When the sync completes, you'll be updated on the status and asked if you'd like to view the synced workbook in Wdesk.

image alt text

Syncing information from a workbook saves information to your account but does not share it. To allow other users to view your changes, access the workbook and click Share.

When the Sync plug-in is updated, you will see a notification in the left-hand panel of Excel, letting you know an update is available and what has changed.

If you have further questions or comments, please consult your Customer Success Manager for more information.

1Microsoft and its products are registered trademarks of Microsoft Corporation in the United States and/or other countries.