Permissions and Collaboration in Presentations

Presentations permissions determine the level of editing available to collaborators and groups. A Presentations Owner determines access for collaborators. Generally, Presentations permissions are set early in the process of Presentations development, but they can be changed at any point.

Managing Presentations Permissions

To access Presentations permissions within Wdesk, select the File tab and choose Permissions, then select Document Permissions from the menu.

image alt text

The permissions editor will display. To quickly find a collaborator or group, enter their name in the search field. In the window that appears, select the radio button for the desired permission level for a collaborator or group.

image alt text

There are three roles that can be assigned to collaborators:

Owner: Has full rights to the Presentation and can manage permissions.

Editor: Can make changes to the Presentation.

Viewer: Can view a Presentation but not make any changes.

TIP: You can use the Filter button in the upper right corner of the Permissions editor to view collaborators by role.

When a collaborator or group is added to a Presentation, there is a checkbox in the lower left-hand corner to notify them that they have been given access. To select this option, check the box before choosing Apply Changes.

To remove a collaborator or group, hover over the collaborator or group and click the X to the right of the permissions role.

image alt text

Clicking Advanced Permissions opens the Advanced Permissions Editor. The Advanced Permissions Editor provides sophisticated permissions customization options. To learn more, read the article Advanced Permissions Editor.

You can also manage Presntations permissions in Wdesk Home. To learn how, read the article Managing Document Permissions in Wdesk Home.

Managing Individual Slide Permissions in Presentations

You can manage permissions for individual slides separately.

Select the slide you want to manage permissions for in the Document Outline panel. On the File tab, choose Permissions, then select Slide Permissions from the menu.

image alt text

The permissions editor functions the same as described in the previous section for Presentations, but permissions managed here will be applied to this slide only.

image alt text

Saving and Sharing Presentations

While you’re working in a Presentation, Wdesk saves your changes automatically every 60 seconds. In addition, you can manually save your changes at any time by clicking Save on the File tab.

Saving preserves a private, personal draft. Collaborators will not see your changes until you share the changed section or document.

To learn more about sharing, read the article Sharing Document Changes.

Requesting Control of a Presentations Slide

Sometimes a collaborator will be working in a section, and hasn't shared their changes yet, which locks the section. If you need to make a change to a Presentations slide that a collaborator has locked, you can request control from the collaborator.

To make a change on a locked Presentation slide, click on the lock icon in the Document Outline panel. The editor's name will display.

image alt text

On the File tab, click the Control button, and select Slide.

image alt text

You will be asked if you wish to request control of the slide. Confirming will allow you to type a message to the person who is editing the locked slide.

A verification note appears to let you know your request has been sent. In addition, a confirmation email is sent to you and a notification email is sent to your collaborator.

Using Tasks

While collaborating in Presentations, it may be useful to have certain tasks assigned to team members, along with due dates and other details, to manage deadlines and information gathering. Creating and managing tasks is integrated into Wdesk. To learn more, read the article Creating and Assigning Tasks.