Managing Users and Roles

This article is for:

  • Organization User Admins

Organization User Admins can manage and update users as needed. In the People section, you can view all users and filter by license, role, or search for a specific user.

Changing a User Role

To update a user's role:

1
Click your name in the bottom left, then select Organization Admin.
2
Select People.
3
Find the person you’d like to update by searching or scrolling through the member list.
4
Click the edit icon or double-click the organization role. Edit User
5
Select a role and click the check icon or press enter. Select Role
6
Click Apply Changes to finish. Apply Changes

You can also change a user role by checking the box next to a user and then clicking Edit Roles in the toolbar.

Updating Multiple Users

When you have several users to update, you can assign or remove roles in bulk to save time. It's best to update users at the same time that you want to have the same role. For example, select every user you want to set as an Organization User Admin.

To update multiple user roles at the same time:

1
In Organization Admin, click People.
2
Check the box next to the members you want to update.
3
Click Edit Roles. Edit Roles
4
Check to apply a role or uncheck to remove a role. A dash in a checkbox indicates that some of the selected members already have this role. Roles that are grayed out cannot be assigned. Then, click Apply. Update User
6
Click Apply Changes in the toolbar to finish.

Editing User Details

To edit user details in your organization, such as email, name, or license:

1
In Organization Admin, click People.
2
Find the person by searching by name or username and click on the row to select the user.
3
Make any updates and click Apply Changes to finish. Update User

Resetting User Passwords

You can reset a users passwords if they forget their password. When you reset a user's password, it disables their current password and they are sent an email with a reset link that expires in 5 hours.

To reset a user's password:

1
In Organization Admin, click People.
2
Find the user by searching or scrolling through the list. Check the box next to their username.
3
Click Reset Password in the toolbar. Remove User
4
Click Reset Password in the dialog to finish.

Removing a User

You can remove users that no longer need to be in your organization. Removing a user could impact document permissions, so you may want to review document permissions before you remove them.

To remove a user from your organization:

1
In Organization Admin, click People.
2
Find the user by searching or scrolling through the list. Check the box next to their username.
3
Click Remove in the toolbar. Remove User
4
Click Remove to finish. Confirm Removing