Permissions and Collaboration in Documents

Document permissions determine the level of editing available to collaborators and groups. A document Owner determines access for collaborators. Generally, document permissions are set early in the process of document development, but they can be changed at any point.

Managing Document Permissions

To access document permissions within Wdesk, select the File tab and choose Permissions, then select Document Permissions from the menu.

image alt text

The permissions editor will display. To quickly find a collaborator or group, enter their name in the search field. In the window that appears, select the radio button for the desired permission level for a collaborator or group.

image alt text

There are three roles that can be assigned to collaborators:

Owner: Has full rights to the document and can manage permissions.

Editor: Can make changes to the document.

Viewer: Can view a document but not make any changes.

TIP: You can use the Filter button in the upper right corner of the Permissions editor to view collaborators by role.

When a collaborator or group is added to a document, there is a checkbox in the lower left-hand corner to notify them that they have been given access. To select this option, check the box before choosing Apply Changes.

To remove a collaborator or group, hover over the collaborator or group and click the X to the right of the permissions role.

image alt text

Clicking Advanced Permissions opens the Advanced Permissions Editor. The Advanced Permissions Editor provides sophisticated permissions customization options. To learn more, read the article Advanced Permissions Editor.

You can also manage document permissions in Wdesk Home. To learn how, read the article Managing Document Permissions in Wdesk Home.

Managing Section Permissions in Documents

If your document has sections, you can manage permissions in each section separately. Select the document section you want to manage permissions for in the Document Outline panel. On the File tab, choose Permissions, then select Section Permissions from the menu.

image alt text

The permissions editor functions the same as described in the previous section for documents, but permissions managed here will be applied to this section of the document only.

image alt text

Using Outline Labels

As your document grows, you may find it helpful to label parts of your outline to provide pertinent information for collaborators at a glance, such as the current status of a section, who is working on a section, or priority. Outline Labels allow you to create custom labels to apply to sections in the document outline panel according to criteria that you establish such as workflow, team member names, or alerts.

To learn more, read the article Outline Labels.

Saving and Sharing Documents

While you’re working in a document, Wdesk saves your changes automatically every 60 seconds. In addition, you can manually save your changes at any time by clicking Save on the File tab.

Saving preserves a private, personal draft. However, collaborators will not see your changes until you share the changed section or document.

To learn more about sharing, read the article Sharing Document Changes.

Requesting Control of a Document Section

Sometimes a collaborator will be working in a section, and hasn't shared their changes yet, which locks the section. If you need to make a change to a document section that a collaborator has locked, you can request control from the collaborator.

To make a change on a locked document section, click on the lock icon in the Document Outline panel. The editor's name will display.

image alt text

On the File tab, click the Control button, and select Section.

image alt text

You will be asked if you wish to request control of the section. Confirming will allow you to type a message to the person who is editing the locked section.

A verification note appears to let you know your request has been sent. In addition, a confirmation email is sent to you and a notification email is sent to your collaborator.

Using Tasks

While collaborating in documents, it may be useful to assign certain tasks to team members, along with due dates and other details, to manage deadlines and information gathering. Creating and managing tasks is integrated into Wdesk. To learn more, read the article Creating and Assigning Tasks.