Document Permissions

Document permissions determine the level of editing allowed for various users and groups. These permissions allow a document Owner to determine document access. Generally, document permissions are set early in the process of document development. They can be adjusted or changed at any point.

To view more discussion on this topic, see the following Wdesk Community topic: What are the differences between permission roles?

Permissions Roles

The permission roles are Owner, Editor, Viewer, and None.

  • An Owner has full editing rights, and can determine the permission roles of other users. Only the Owner can set permission roles for an entire document or individual sections, turn Track Changes on or off, accept or reject a tracked change, enable and edit style guides, and lock or unlock cells or text links.
  • Editors can view and make changes to the document.
  • Viewers can only view the document and make comments, but cannot make changes to the document.
  • The None level is used prevent certain users from accessing a document. Assigning a user this permission will remove that document from the user's view.

All four levels of permission are available at both the document and section level.

The level of permissions with the most priority are those explicitly set, followed by specific group level permissions. A member added to multiple groups will default to the least restrictive permissions. The next level of priority after the group level would be any default document permissions, and finally, section level permissions.

Document Permissions in Home

To edit document permissions in Home, right-click the document you'd like to modify and choose Permissions. In the window that appears, choose the user or group you'd like to modify, and select the desired permission level.

To find or add a user or group, enter their name in the field and select the desired permission level. When a user or group is added to a document from Home, there is an option to notify collaborators that the have access. Check the box before choosing Apply Changes to select this option.

To remove a user or group, highlight the user or group and click the X to the right of their name.

image alt text

Document Permissions in Wdesk

To access permissions in Wdesk, select the File tab and choose Properties, then select Document Properties from the menu.

image alt text

In the Document Properties dialog box, click the Permissions tab to display the current permission settings for the document.

The Role column indicates the current permission level of each user in your account. The Source column indicates where the permission was derived from.

image alt text

Explicit means the Owner specifically assigned the user a different access level than their default level.

To add new users or groups to the permissions list, click Edit Permissions at the bottom of the Permissions dialog and then select the Add Permission button.

At the top of the Add Permission dialog box, you can click the Groups radio button to add a group or the Users radio button to add specific users.

image alt text

Once you have the users and groups chosen, select Add Permission. When a user or group is added to a document from Home, there is a checkbox option to notify collaborates that they now have access. Click on Apply Changes in the Edit Permissions dialog box to commit your changes.

Finally, to delete users or groups, click Remove in the right column to delete users or groups and return their permission level back to their original, default access level.

image alt text

NOTE: Groups must be created by an account admin in the Admin screen.

Clearing Permissions

At any time, you can clear your document's permissions using the Clear Permissions button. This will eliminate any current permission settings and force any new attempts to access the document to use the default user group permissions.

NOTE: A document with no user permissions will only be accessible from the admin panel.

image alt text

Set Permissions to None

Document owners, section owners, or content administrators can restrict access to specific sections. To do this, set the permissions for a user or group to None in the Section Permissions dialog box. In addition to denying access to the document, this prevents the user from seeing the section in all generated document formats, such as EDGAR and any document reviews.

NOTE: If a user has been denied access to any specific sections of a document that is also EDGARIzed as part of the Filing Wizard process, that user also would not be able to view the generated EDGAR document that is created. This is true even if the user has SEC filing permissions for the account. The generated EDGAR document does not contain section warnings. This is to prevent an incomplete document from being filed with the SEC.

Saving Permissions as a Set

If you want to reuse your existing project or document permissions in another document or project, you can save your permissions as a set. Permissions sets are a collection of group and user level permissions granted to a project, document or sections, which you can save and apply to other appropriate projects, documents, and sections.

The Save as Permissions Set button allows you to add a new permissions set to reuse again later. To apply this new set, click the Edit Permission button from the Document Properties dialog box and select it from the Choose a Permission Set drop-down in the top right.

image alt text