Working with Tables

next generation

Once you’ve inserted your table, you can use the advanced options to work with the table. This article shows you how to get the most out of your tables.

Adding Images to Cells

To insert an image in a table cell:

1
Double-click the cell.
2
From the Edit toolbar, click Insert .
3
Select Image from the drop-down menu.

The insert menu

4
Browse to your image and click Open to insert it into the cell.

Merging and Splitting Table Cells

To merge cells in a table:

1
Select the cells you want to merge.
2
Right-click the cells and select Merge Cells from the drop-down menu.
3
Select how you want to merge the cells.

The merge cells menu

  • Merge All combines cells across both rows and columns.
  • Merge Horizontally combines the cells into single rows.
  • Merge Vertically combines the cells into single columns.

To split a cell or range of cells in a table into multiple cells:

1
Select the cell(s) you want to split.
2
Right-click the cells and select Merge Cells.
3
Choose Unmerge from the drop-down menu.

Hiding Rows and Columns

Rather than deleting a column or row that may be needed at a later date, you can hide them from the current view using the Hide Rows and Columns feature. This saves you from needing to relink and retag those cells.

To hide a row or column:

1
Right-click the header of the column or row.
2
Select Hide from the drop-down menu.

The row drop-down menu

To unhide a row or column:

1
Right-click any header in the table.
2
Select Unhide from the drop-down menu.
3
Select the row or column to unhide. If you’d like to reveal all hidden columns, select All Columns.

The unhide menu

Locking Cells

Locking selected cells prevents changes to data, including changes to the formatting. Only a Document Owner can lock or unlock cells. Locking only a destination cell will still allow for the value of that cell to be changed at the source.

To lock a table or cells:

1
Select the cell(s).
2
From the Edit tab, click the Lock icon. Rows, columns, or tables containing locked cells cannot be deleted.

The lock cells icon

To unlock a table or cells, select the cells again and click the Unlock icon.