The Content tab is only available to the Content and Full Admins. User and Group Admins will not see the Content tab.
From the Content tab's main list, you can see a list of all documents currently available in your account. This list displays the item's name, whether the document is a form or supporting document, and what type of document the item is (10-Q, 8-K, etc.).
You can also set permissions for documents via this list. From the More menu to the far right of each item, choose Permissions. Members and groups can be added with the available buttons. Use the More drop-down to access additional options including Advanced permissions, Apply permissions set and Properties. See more information about permissions in the Advanced Permissions Editor article.
You can filter documents so that you can locate what you're looking for more quickly. This is useful if you have a large number of documents.
In the Name and Kind column headings, there are arrows that determine if documents are listed in ascending or descending order - by clicking the arrow, you can reverse the order. The Kind category will separate your documents, supporting documents, and projects. There is also a search box to the right, where you can type in the name of the document to begin a search.
If you click on a document's name, information about the document will be displayed. You can move it to the trash or freeze it, or click the Delete History button to delete all revisions prior to the current revision, blacklines, and reviews associated with the document. You may also choose to delete comments and milestones.
You can also manage drafts and permissions from this menu, or override the locks of a user on a document by sharing or discarding draft changes (this can only be done if the user with the lock isn't logged in).
You can also copy a project from the Content tab. To do so, simply click on the project's name and click Copy Project then choose if you would like to copy comments or outline labels. All items under the Project Documents list in the project's detail page will be copied into a new project named Copy of followed by the copied project's name.
Depending on the size of your project, copying may take several minutes. If the copied project contains a Spreadsheet, you may choose to copy the document without updating existing links. You can view the status of a project copy from the Copy Status subtab of the Content tab.
Trash and Deleting Content
If you'd like to delete a single document, use the Move to Trash option under the More menu to the far right of the individual item. To move multiple documents, check the box next to each document you'd like to move and then choose the Move to Trash icon on the left of your screen just above the list of documents.
Once your content has been moved to the trash, click on the View trash button to switch to the trash view. From here, you can see all the content currently in the trash, whether it was moved there from the Admin component or through the document editor. You can also see when the item was moved as well as what kind of item it is. You can also view your trash from Wdesk Home.
If you'd like to move a document back into your library, you can do so individually using the Restore button to the right, or you can move multiple documents at once by checking the box next to the item name and clicking the Restore Items button at the top. If you're sure you want to remove the documents in your trash from your account, you can do so by clicking Empty Trash.
Note that deleted items are maintained on the Wdesk servers for 30 days after their deletion from your account. If you've accidentally deleted a document, you can contact your Customer Success Manager to have your document restored.
Freezing and Thawing Documents
You can also freeze and thaw documents from the Content tab. Select the items you'd like to freeze or thaw, then choose your operation from the More menu above the content list. You can see if a document is frozen by including the Frozen column from the content column options, found by clicking the three dots in the top-right of the header row.
The Validations tab provides an overview of any validation activity that has been performed on your documents. The report displayed at the end of validation in Wdesk will show only major issues that need to be addressed by a user.
The information shown in the Content tab, by contrast, contains the complete details of the validation report, including issues that did not need user approval. This list can be modified to display who performed the validation, when it began and ended, how long it took, and more.
You can examine the actions taken in detail from the View menu under the Actions column. You can see specific actions under the four options:
- Issues - Gives a list of all issues. Will only appear if issues were found.
- Repairs - Gives a list of all issues repaired automatically. Will only appear if some issues were repaired automatically.
- In Editor - Gives a document link and allows you to view the notification list complete with navigation links, allow you to view the issues in the document
- Details - Gives a summary with buttons to view issues and repairs, as well as a button that will jump to the issue in the document
Validations can be scheduled from Admin by clicking on a project title and choosing Schedule Validation. Choose whether to Apply repairs and share changes, include a Filing Draft Check and whether to receive an Email on completion. Fill in a date for the scheduled validation and then click the Schedule button. Scheduled validations will be run after work hours on the selected date.